An Artist is only as good as her tools!

I’m a firm believer in that little saying “An artist is only as good as her tools!” I find that having the right brushes is essential. They are one of the most important things in the application of makeup. Believe me when I say that I have worked with bad quality brushes before and I know the difference and you will too. There is nothing worse than trying to apply makeup only to find that you are left with streaks in your makeup and brush hairs on your face!

o_professional-mac-makeup-brush-set-32pcs-5fc4

Thanks to the many different companies, makeup brushes are not all as pricey as they once were. In fact they are way more affordable and of better quality so there is no excuse!

 

However you don’t always know what will work for you. It’s really trial and error on discovering the perfect collection of brushes for each individual. Sometimes, even the style of brush for example a foundation brush, which can be shaped differently –flat, round or slanted can make a difference. They all do the same job at the end of the day. It’s just a matter of option! So don’t be afraid to experiment.

 

foundation brush shapes

Also, keep in mind that most brushes are in fact multi-purpose. This is great as you can double up with one brush for many different uses!

 

mac_makeup_brushes_set

I’ve built my own collection up over the last few years and invested in a few more expensive ones along the way. I know that buying better quality brushes, though a little more expensive, will last me longer.

 

boldmetals

 

My favourite brushes are definitely from MAC, Real Techniques and Blank Canvas. So I have a mix of brushes ranging from the more expensive to the cheaper ones. I do have a lot of brushes as I have been collecting them for a few years now, though for everyday use I usually just stick to carrying a few with me in my makeup bag.

 

sigma

            Other brushes to check out: Morphe Brushes, Sigma, Crown Brushes, Sephora.

 

 

            I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know what brushes you are using right now.

                Love Aoife xxx

Leave a Reply

