My quest for the perfect smile!

It seems like more people are looking after their teeth these days and I admire them for it. I though I would share with you each step of the journey on my quest for the perfect smile.

I’ve been thinking about having braces inserted for a while now but never really did anything about it. Then a few months ago I finally got the courage to go for a consultation with the Orthodontist. Most people wonder why I want braces as they don’t see anything wrong with my teeth but I wish to correct my bite and also straighten my teeth.

I was a little nervous but excited! After all, it is a big investment as braces are not cheap. I though it over for a while and finally decided to go ahead with the consultation.

At my first appointment I filled in a consultation form and then I had some x-rays and photographs taken of my face, mouth and teeth. The Orthodontist could then see what work needed to be done and he discussed the treatment process, the aims and procedures and the cost of the treatment itself.

The consultation itself was free, as it is in main practices, and you can ask as many questions as you like. I felt more at ease when all my questions had been answered and knew that I had made a good decision.

Following the consultation, I arranged to have dental impressions done. I’d no idea what was involved here, except that my friends scared me with horror stories. So, as you can imagine, I was not looking forward to that part.

This morning I was up bright and early as I had another appointment with my Orthodontist at 9am! I arrived on time and sat in the waiting room until my name was called. I followed the nurse into the room and she explained what we would be doing today.

First of all, I had to have more x-rays and then it was time to have my orthodontic impressions. An orthodontic impression is taken with a tray that fits over your teeth. The tray is filled with alginate powder mixed with water.

image_page31_impressions

The lower impression was done first, then the upper. This was not a pleasant experience and I felt like I was going to gag! The taste in my mouth was awful but I concentrated on breathing through my nose. Thankfully it only took about twenty seconds and then it was over!

After that, I was given a mouthwash to help remove any trace of the alginate. When I had finished, the orthodontist came and spoke about what would be happing next week.

I hope you enjoyed this post!

Love Aoife xxx

 

Leave a Reply

