Cranberry & Almond Granola Bars!!

I have to say I’m not much of a breakfast lover and I never have been. To be honest I find myself racing out the door at the last minute and seem to have very little time even though I try to get up a little earlier something goes wrong in between getting up and arriving to work!

2009-08-26_pmow_granolabars6

So I decided to try my version of granola bars. You can use any type of dried fruit or nuts. Whatever works or you prefer.

 

Ingredients:

100g butter

200g porridge oats

50g almonds

3 tbsp honey

1 tsp Vanilla Essence

100g dried cranberries

½ tsp Ground Cinnamon

100g light muscovado sugar

Directions:

Heat the oven to 160C /fan Gas 3. Grease the base of a tin with butter before lining it with parchment paper.

In a roasting tin, mix the seeds, nuts and oats together and place in the oven for 5-10 minutes to toast.

Next warm the butter, honey and sugar in a pan, stirring until the butter is melted.

Add the cinnamon, dried fruit and oat mix, making sure that all the oats are well coated.

Press the mixture into the prepared tin. Then cook for thirty minutes. Cool in tin and then cut into twelve bars.

IMG_4464.JPG

You can add a coating if you wish. I was bad and drizzled some white chocolate over the granola bars once they were cool!

Love Aoife xxx

 

Leave a Reply

